An automatic dog feeder drops a set portion of kibble into a bowl at the times you choose: a fix for the 5 a.m. wake-up, a late commute or a dog who needs several small meals. It isn't a babysitter. The American Kennel Club says feeders work best "when covering a meal while you're at work, running errands, or otherwise delayed," not for long stretches without someone checking in. (Going away? Read our guide to using an automatic feeder while you're away first.)
Our verdict. We haven't used any of these feeders with our own dogs. This page is research: maker specs, the AKC's and VCA's advice and other sites' reviews, all linked below. For a small or medium dog, we'd start with the Petlibro Granary Smart Feeder: a 5-liter hopper, meals set from your phone, and battery backup for power cuts. For a bigger dog on large kibble, the PetSafe Healthy Pet Simply Feed takes pieces up to 3/4 inch across, above the Granary's 15 mm limit.
How we picked. We read the maker pages for the feeders that turn up most in reviews and checked hopper size, biggest meal, largest kibble, power-cut behaviour and which size of dog the maker itself says it suits. Both Petlibro and PetSafe say small to medium, and we say so on every pick. Most picks are "specs only": independent tests of dog feeders are rare, and most use cats.
Quick picks
| Badge | Pick | Type | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Top pick for small and medium dogs | Petlibro Granary Smart Feeder | Timed, Wi-Fi | Specs only; PetsRadar top pick |
| Best camera feeder | Petlibro Granary Smart Camera Feeder | Timed, Wi-Fi, camera | Specs only |
| Best for two small dogs | Petlibro Granary Dual Bowl | Timed, Wi-Fi, two bowls | Tried by Rover (cats) |
| Best for bigger kibble | PetSafe Healthy Pet Simply Feed | Timed, buttons | Specs only |
| Best Wi-Fi alternative | PetSafe Smart Feed | Timed, Wi-Fi | Tested by Tom's Guide (cats) |
| Best gravity feeder | Amazon Basics Gravity Pet Feeder | Gravity | Rover and PetsRadar picks |
Gravity vs timed vs smart feeders
| Gravity | Timed (buttons) | Smart (Wi-Fi app) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| How it works | Food slides down as your dog eats | Serves set portions at set times | Same, set from your phone |
| Portion control | None | Yes | Yes, plus a feeding log |
| Power | None | Batteries or adapter | Adapter, batteries as backup |
| Good for | Dogs who stop when full | Most dogs, simple routines | Changing schedules, checking from work |
| Watch out for | Overeating, stale food | Programming on small screens | Wi-Fi setup, app accounts |
Gravity feeders have little control over portions, the AKC warns, which can lead to overeating: fine for a grazer, wrong for a food-loving Labrador. Timed feeders serve measured meals; VCA Animal Hospitals says they can support a vet's weight-loss plan, but drained batteries can mean missed meals and some feeders overfeed "by just a few kibbles, which adds up over time." Smart feeders add an app, jam and low-food alerts, and keep to their schedule when the Wi-Fi drops, per Petlibro.
Automatic feeders for large dogs: the honest answer
Most "best automatic feeder for large dogs" lists skip this: the makers of the best-known feeders don't market them for large dogs. Petlibro's FAQ answers "Can this feeder work for larger dogs?" with "This feeder is more suitable for small or medium sized pets, such as small dogs, cats, and rabbits." PetSafe describes both of its feeders as for "cats and small to medium-sized dogs."
Three numbers decide whether a feeder fits your dog:
- Biggest meal. The Granary and both PetSafe feeders top out at about 4 cups per meal. If your dog's meal is bigger, split it into two servings a few minutes apart.
- Largest kibble. Petlibro lists 2–15 mm; PetSafe lists the Simply Feed at up to 3/4 inch (about 19 mm). Measure a few pieces of large-breed kibble before you buy.
- Days per fill. A 5-liter hopper holds about 21 cups: about a week for a dog eating 3 cups a day, four days at 5 cups.
Automatic dog feeder spec table
| Feeder | Hopper | Biggest meal | Kibble size | Backup power | Dog size the maker suggests |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Petlibro Granary Smart Feeder | 5 L | 50 portions (about 4 cups) | 2–15 mm | 3 D batteries (not included) | Small to medium |
| Petlibro Granary Camera Feeder | 5 L | 50 portions (about 4 cups) | 2–15 mm | 3 D batteries (not included) | Small to medium |
| Petlibro Granary Dual Bowl | 5 L, split between 2 bowls | 50 portions, shared | 2–15 mm | 3 D batteries (not included) | Small to medium |
| PetSafe Healthy Pet Simply Feed | 24 cups | 4 cups | Up to 3/4 in | Runs on 4 D batteries; adapter sold separately | Small to medium |
| PetSafe Smart Feed (2nd Gen) | 24 cups | 4 cups | Not stated | 4 D batteries (not included) | Small to medium |
| Amazon Basics Gravity Feeder | Up to 12 lb of food (bundle) | No portions | Any dry food | None needed | Not stated |
| Not picked: Petlibro Granary 2 | 5 L | 6 portions per dispense | 2–15 mm | Built-in rechargeable, up to 24 h | Cats and small dogs |
Our data. Method: every figure comes from the maker's own product page, read on 2026-10-08 (Petlibro, PetSafe); the gravity feeder's capacity comes from Rover. Petlibro's Granary pages list "up to 10 meals or snacks a day" in the product bullets but "up to 6 meals each day" in the FAQ, so check the app before you plan more than six. What stands out: every timed feeder here is rated by its maker for small to medium dogs, and only PetSafe publishes a kibble limit above 15 mm. "Not stated" means the maker's page doesn't say.
Petlibro Granary Smart Feeder
Best for: a small or medium dog on dry food, and an owner who wants to set meals from a phone.
Petlibro lists a 5-liter hopper, meals of 1 to 50 portions (each about 1/12 cup), and an enclosed dispenser a pet can't shake food out of. The app logs meals and alerts you to low food, jams and low battery. It runs on an adapter with three D batteries as backup; Petlibro says Wi-Fi switches off on batteries but meals still go out. PetsRadar named a Wi-Fi Petlibro feeder its best overall automatic pet feeder.
What we like
- Schedules meals and portions per meal from the app; feeds even when Wi-Fi is down
- Battery backup for power cuts
- Stainless steel bowl; 24-month warranty listed by Petlibro
Keep in mind
- Petlibro says it's best for small or medium pets, and kibble must be 2–15 mm
- Dry food only; Petlibro suggests changing the desiccant bag in the lid every 2 weeks
- Use alkaline D batteries, not rechargeables, per Petlibro
Key specs: 5 L hopper · portions of about 1/12 cup, up to 50 per meal · 13.4 × 7.5 × 7.5 in · adapter plus 3 × D backup
Evidence: specs from Petlibro; a top pick at PetsRadar. The newer Granary 2 adds a scale that tracks food to the gram and a 24-hour rechargeable backup, but Petlibro rates it for "cats and small dogs" only.
Petlibro Granary Smart Camera Feeder
Best for: watching meals when you're out, or showing your vet how your dog eats.
The same 5-liter feeder with a 1080p camera and 145° lens over the bowl, night vision and two-way audio. The AKC notes a camera feeder can help if your vet wants to watch how your dog eats. Cloud recording needs a paid Petlibro Video Cloud plan; without one, Petlibro lists SD-card storage only.
What we like
- See that the meal actually dropped, and that your dog ate it
- Same battery backup and jam alerts as the standard Granary
Keep in mind
- Same small-to-medium rating and 15 mm kibble limit as the standard Granary
- A camera adds Wi-Fi setup and an app account to manage
Key specs: 5 L hopper · 1080p camera, 145° lens, night vision · two-way audio · adapter plus 3 × D backup
Evidence: specs from Petlibro.
Petlibro Granary Smart Feeder Dual Bowl
Best for: two small dogs who eat the same food and don't guard it.
One 5-liter hopper feeds two stainless bowls through a splitter, and Petlibro says the portion you set is split between both bowls. Rover tried it with two cats: its reviewer liked the build and locking lid, but gave multi-pet homes only a "maybe," because you must watch that each pet gets its share.
What we like
- Both dogs eat at once; one hopper, one schedule
Keep in mind
- Nothing stops the faster dog eating both meals. Skip it for a food guarder or a dog on a prescription diet
- Same small-to-medium rating as the other Granary feeders
- Petlibro also sells a camera version with two bowls
Key specs: 5 L hopper · two stainless bowls with meal splitter · adapter plus 3 × D backup
Evidence: tried by Rover (with cats); specs from Petlibro.
PetSafe Healthy Pet Simply Feed
Best for: a medium or bigger dog on larger kibble, and fast eaters.
No app: you program it on the feeder. PetSafe lists a 24-cup hopper, up to 12 meals a day of 1/8 to 4 cups, and a conveyor for kibble up to 3/4 inch across, the biggest limit we found. A Slow Feed option is "great for pets who eat too quickly," PetSafe says, and Pause Feed skips meals on days you're home.
What we like
- Takes bigger kibble than the Petlibro Granary
- Slow Feed setting for gulpers
- Stainless bowl, lid and hopper are dishwasher safe (hand-wash the conveyor)
Keep in mind
- PetSafe still rates it for small to medium dogs; a giant breed's meal may need two servings
- Runs on 4 D batteries; the wall adapter is sold separately
- No alerts: you won't know about a jam until you're home
Key specs: 24 cups · up to 12 meals a day, 1/8 to 4 cups each · kibble up to 3/4 in · Slow Feed and Pause Feed
Evidence: specs from PetSafe.
PetSafe Smart Feed (2nd Generation)
Best for: an app-controlled feeder from a brand other than Petlibro.
PetSafe's Wi-Fi feeder holds 24 cups and schedules up to 12 meals a day, 1/8 to 4 cups each, in the My PetSafe app, with a "Feed Now" button and Alexa support. Tom's Guide tested it with cats and recommended it for owners who travel for work.
What we like
- Independent test behind it, not just specs
- Lid, hopper, bowl and bowl holder are dishwasher safe
Keep in mind
- PetSafe calls it best for "cats and small to medium-sized dogs"
- PetSafe doesn't publish a kibble size limit for this model
- Backup takes 4 D batteries, not included
Key specs: 24 cups · up to 12 meals a day, 1/8 to 4 cups each · Wi-Fi app · AC adapter plus 4 × D backup
Evidence: tested by Tom's Guide (with cats); specs from PetSafe.
Amazon Basics Self-Dispensing Gravity Pet Feeder
Best for: a dog who grazes and stops when full.
A food tank over a bowl, with no timer and no power. Rover picked the food-and-water bundle (up to 12 pounds of food and 2.5 gallons of water) as its best gravity combo, and PetsRadar lists it too. Rover is blunt: it's "ideal for grazers but not for dogs who are prone to over-eating."
What we like
- Nothing to program, charge or connect
Keep in mind
- No portion control at all, the AKC's main warning about gravity feeders
- Hand-wash only, per Rover
Key specs: gravity tank · no power · food and water versions
Evidence: an editorial pick at Rover and PetsRadar (not tests).
Slow eating and portion control
A timed feeder controls how much and when, not how fast. For gulpers:
- Use the slow-feed setting if your feeder has one (the PetSafe Simply Feed does).
- Split the day's food into more meals, something timed feeders are good at. Ask your vet how many meals suit your dog.
- Add a slow-feeder bowl. Petlibro sells a stainless slow-feeder bowl that fits its Granary Camera feeder.
- Measure what comes out. VCA warns some feeders overfeed slightly, so run a meal into a measuring cup first.
How much your dog eats is a question for your vet and the food label; set the feeder to match.
Two-dog households
The AKC says to think twice in a multi-dog home if either dog guards food or the dogs need different diets; feeding them yourself may be safer. If your dogs eat calmly side by side:
- Same food, similar size: a two-bowl feeder like the Granary Dual Bowl.
- Different portions or diets: two feeders in different rooms (most microchip feeders are made for cats).
How to choose
- Small or medium dog, phone-first owner? The Petlibro Granary, or the camera version if you want to watch.
- Two small dogs, same food, no guarding? The Granary Dual Bowl.
- Large dog or kibble over 15 mm? The PetSafe Simply Feed, with the meal split in two if it's over 4 cups.
- A fast eater? The Simply Feed's Slow Feed mode, plus more, smaller meals.
- A grazer who self-regulates? A gravity feeder.
- Anxious when left alone? A feeder won't fix that; start with training and our separation anxiety crate guide.
- Away for more than a day? No feeder is enough on its own. See our guide to using a feeder while you're away, and plan water separately: our dog water fountain guide covers what keeps flowing in a power cut.
Keep the feeder where your dog can't knock it over or chew the cord; a dog gate helps.
This guide is general information, not veterinary advice. How much and how often to feed your dog depends on their age, size, health and food, so follow your vet's advice and the food label, and set the feeder to match. Talk to your vet before using an automatic feeder for a puppy, a diabetic dog or any dog on a prescription diet or timed medication. If your dog stops eating, eats much less or much more than usual, or vomits after meals, call your vet; a feeder log can help, but it can't spot illness.
FAQs
Are automatic dog feeders good for dogs?
For the right dog, yes. The AKC says they help keep mealtimes on schedule and prevent overfeeding, but work best alongside regular owner involvement. VCA adds that they can support a vet's weight-loss plan.
Can an automatic feeder work for a large dog?
Sometimes. Most serve up to about 4 cups a meal, and both Petlibro and PetSafe say theirs suit small to medium dogs. Check meal size and kibble size against the specs.
Can I leave my dog alone with an automatic feeder for a weekend?
No. The AKC answers this question directly: feeders should not replace daily human care. If you'll be away for more than a day, arrange a sitter, family member or boarding.
The best feeder is the one that serves the meal your vet recommends, at the time your dog expects it, while you stay the one who notices how they're doing.

