"Orthopedic" is printed on a lot of dog beds, and nobody checks it. Whole Dog Journal puts it plainly: there's no legal or technical definition of an orthopedic dog bed. So this guide does the checking: what foam is inside each bed, how deep it is under your dog, and which beds have been through an independent test. Five picks, from a 7-inch slab for giant breeds to a budget bed a stiff dog can step straight onto.
Our verdict. We haven't slept a dog on any of these beds. This pick rests on the published tests and maker specs linked below. For a dog over about 60 lb, we'd buy the Big Barker: it has the deepest foam here (7 inches in three layers), TechGearLab's testers scored it 10 out of 10 for support, and Barker Beds backs the foam with a 10-year no-flatten warranty. For a smaller dog, or one that has the odd accident, we'd pick the Orvis Memory Foam Couch. It has a 4-inch memory foam base, a water-resistant liner and an open side to walk in, and it was Whole Dog Journal's top washable bed.
How we picked. We started from Canine Journal's orthopedic list, then looked for an independent test of each bed. TechGearLab (13 beds side by side) and Reviewed (a year with one Casper) cover two picks, and Whole Dog Journal's 2025 washable-bed test covers two more. We dropped the BuddyRest Crown Supreme and The Dog's Bed because their makers' current pages no longer match the specs Canine Journal reviewed. We also left out 3-inch egg-crate beds like the Bedsure, which TechGearLab and Canine Journal both like on a budget, because they fail our own checklist below. Every pick shows its evidence level.
Quick picks
| Badge | Pick | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Top pick for large breeds | Big Barker 7" with Headrest | Tested by TechGearLab; Canine Journal pick |
| Most tested | Casper Dog Bed | Tested by TechGearLab and Reviewed |
| Best bolster bed | Orvis Memory Foam Couch | Tested by Whole Dog Journal |
| Best waterproof budget bed | Brindle Waterproof Memory Foam | Specs only (via Canine Journal) |
| Best budget low-entry bed | FurHaven Ultra Plush Luxe Lounger | Tested by Whole Dog Journal |
Canine orthopedic beds: what makes a bed orthopedic?
There's no standard, so use this checklist. A bed that misses the first two points isn't one we'd call orthopedic, whatever the label says.
- Solid foam, not fill. For its orthopedic bed trial, Whole Dog Journal ruled out beds stuffed with chunks of foam or fiber, because they go lumpy and need fluffing. Look for a solid slab, ideally memory foam over a firmer support layer.
- Enough foam under the dog. K9 of Mine treats 4 inches as the minimum for a big dog's bed. Our own rule of thumb is 4 inches for a medium dog and as close to 7 as you can get for a giant breed. Check the depth of the sleeping area, not the height of the bolsters: on some bolster beds the two numbers are far apart (see the table below).
- The squeeze test. Whole Dog Journal's version: squeeze the bed, and if you can feel the floor or your fingers on the other side, it isn't giving orthopedic support.
- A waterproof or water-resistant liner. Older dogs have accidents, and foam that soaks up urine can't go in the washing machine.
- A washable outer cover, and an entry your dog can manage. A low edge or an open side matters for a stiff dog. Our best dog beds for senior dogs guide covers more low-entry and incontinence-friendly beds than this page.
Orthopedic dog bed foam table
| Bed | Foam (maker's words) | Foam under the dog | Overall height | Density published? | CertiPUR-US | Liner | Size guide |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Barker 7" | 3 layers: 2" base, 3" support, 2" comfort top | 7" | 7" (Headrest Edition adds a bolster) | No | Yes | Not included; cover is water-resistant, liner sold separately | By length: Large to 40", XL to 50", Giant over 50" nose to tail base |
| Casper | Memory foam over polyurethane support foam | 3.5" (Casper's inner sleep area); TechGearLab lists 4.5" | 6.5–7.5" with bolsters | No | Not stated | None | To 30, 60 and 90 lb |
| Orvis Memory Foam Couch | Isotonic+ memory foam base; recycled-fiber bolster | 4" | Not stated | No | Yes | Water-resistant liner included | Up to 25 lb through 70–120 lb (four sizes) |
| Brindle Waterproof | 2" memory foam over 2" high-density support foam | 4" | Not found | No | Not found | Waterproof encasement included | Small to Large; not for giant breeds (Canine Journal) |
| FurHaven Luxe Lounger | Solid orthopedic foam (memory foam or cooling gel top optional) | Not published; thinner in the middle (Whole Dog Journal) | 5" (Medium) to 9" (Giant), per Whole Dog Journal | No | Yes | Sold separately | Medium to Giant |
Our data. Method: foam type, layer depths, size guides and certifications come from each maker's own product page (Barker Beds, Casper, Orvis, FurHaven), read on 2026-10-07. Brindle's site was offline, so its row comes from Canine Journal's review. The Casper's 4.5-inch figure and the FurHaven heights come from TechGearLab and Whole Dog Journal. "Not stated" means the maker's page doesn't say. None of the five makers publishes foam density, which Whole Dog Journal says is how memory foam quality is judged, more than thickness. Until brands publish it, the depth under the dog and an independent test are the best checks you have.
Big Barker 7" Orthopedic Dog Bed with Headrest
Best for: large and giant breeds, especially heavy dogs who like a pillow.
The Big Barker is 7 inches of foam in three layers: a 2-inch base, a 3-inch support layer and a 2-inch comfort top, made in the USA with CertiPUR-US certified foam. TechGearLab named the Headrest Edition its Best Bed for Large Breeds after testing 13 beds side by side, mainly with an 80 lb, 13-year-old Pyrenees-heeler cross, and wrote that it "will not flatten even under the paws of the largest pups." Canine Journal makes it its large-breed pick too. Barker Beds offers a 10-year "No-Flatten" warranty: if the foam keeps less than 90% of its shape and support, it replaces the bed. The brand also cites a University of Pennsylvania study of its beds; that's the brand's claim, and we haven't reviewed the study.
What we like
- The deepest foam here, and the only bed made in a Giant size (60 × 48")
- Sized by your dog's length, nose to tail base, with a breed list for each size
- 10-year no-flatten warranty
- A Headrest or Sofa Edition for dogs who rest their chin on something
Keep in mind
- No waterproof liner as standard. Barker Beds says its covers are water-resistant, not waterproof, and sells the liner separately. TechGearLab wished the cover were waterproof too
- TechGearLab found the cover hard to get back on after washing, and the zipper can scratch wood floors
- One of the most expensive beds here, and far too big for a small dog
Key specs: 7" three-layer foam · Large 48 × 30", XL 52 × 36", Giant 60 × 48" · removable, machine-washable cover
Evidence: tested by TechGearLab; a Canine Journal pick; specs from Barker Beds.
Casper Dog Bed
Best for: small and medium dogs, on a bed that has to look tidy in the living room.
The Casper layers memory foam over polyurethane support foam, inside low foam bolsters. It's the most-tested bed on this page. TechGearLab made it its Best Overall Bed, listing "firm support" and a scratch-resistant suede top that stands up to digging. Reviewed used one for a year with a 50 lb golden retriever and said it still looked and felt "as good as the day we got it."
The number to know: Casper lists the inner sleep area at 3.5 inches deep in every size. The 6.5 to 7.5 inches on its size chart includes the bolsters. That's under K9 of Mine's 4-inch line for big dogs, so for a heavy dog we'd go to the Big Barker.
What we like
- Two independent tests, one of them a year long
- Memory foam over a firmer support layer
- Digging-resistant top and a hidden zipper
- Clear weight guide for each size
Keep in mind
- Not waterproof. TechGearLab notes the foam core will soak up liquids, and Reviewed's tester had an accident soak through to the foam
- Only three sizes, and TechGearLab found it slides on hardwood
Key specs: Small 26 × 19 × 6.5" (to 30 lb) · Medium 33 × 25 × 7" (to 60 lb) · Large 45 × 35 × 7.5" (to 90 lb) · 3.5" sleep area · machine-washable cover
Evidence: tested by TechGearLab and Reviewed (one year, one 50 lb dog).
Orvis Memory Foam Couch Dog Bed
Best for: dogs who lean on a bolster, in homes that wash the bed often.
Orvis builds this on a 4-inch base of Isotonic+ memory foam, which it says holds up better than ordinary memory foam without compressing. A fiber-filled bolster runs around three sides, and one open side makes it easier to get on and off. A water-resistant liner sits between the foam and the cover. Whole Dog Journal tested it in 2025 and named it the Best Washable Dog Bed: "incredibly supportive without being too firm," easy to put together, and it went through the washer and dryer without problems.
What we like
- 4 inches of memory foam under the dog in every size
- Water-resistant liner included
- Open front for an easier step in
- Four sizes, the largest for dogs up to 120 lb
Keep in mind
- Premium priced; Whole Dog Journal said so too
- The bolster is soft fiber fill, not foam
- Needs assembling out of the box
Key specs: 4" memory foam base, CertiPUR-US · Small to 25 lb, Medium 25–45 lb, Large 45–70 lb, X-Large 70–120 lb (53 × 36" overall) · machine-washable cover
Evidence: tested by Whole Dog Journal; specs from Orvis. Orvis sells it direct as well.
Brindle Waterproof Designer Memory Foam Bed
Best for: small and medium dogs who have accidents, on a budget.
Canine Journal's pick for medium dogs. It's a proper two-layer build: 2 inches of memory foam over 2 inches of high-density support foam, inside a fully waterproof encasement, with a zippered velour cover that comes off for the wash and a 3-year warranty. It's the only bed here sold with a fully waterproof inner cover, which is why it keeps a badge despite thin evidence.
What we like
- Memory foam over support foam, 4 inches in total
- Fully waterproof encasement protects the foam
- Budget-friendly for an orthopedic memory foam dog bed
Keep in mind
- No independent test found, and Brindle's own site was offline when we checked, so these specs rest on Canine Journal
- Canine Journal says it isn't ideal for very large or giant breeds and has no cooling layer
- Canine Journal mentions some complaints about the cover ripping
Key specs: 4" total (2" memory + 2" support foam) · Small, Medium (34 × 22"), Large · waterproof encasement
Evidence: specs only, via Canine Journal.

FurHaven Ultra Plush Luxe Lounger
Best for: stiff or older dogs who struggle to step over a rim, when the budget is tight.
The Luxe Lounger is contoured: low in the middle and raised at the sides for a headrest. FurHaven calls it a "step-on bed design" for smaller, older or disabled pets, and sells it with a solid orthopedic foam core or with a memory foam or cooling gel top. Whole Dog Journal called it the best budget washable bed it tested in 2025, with foam "surprisingly supportive given that it's thinner in the middle."
What we like
- Step-on design, no rim to climb over
- Choice of orthopedic, memory foam or cooling gel core
- Sizes up to Giant (58 × 42" per Whole Dog Journal)
- Budget-friendly
Keep in mind
- FurHaven doesn't publish the foam depth, and it's thinnest in the middle, where your dog lies
- Whole Dog Journal found the cover a bit thin, and it shed in the wash
- The water-resistant liner is sold separately
Key specs: contoured foam core, CertiPUR-US · Medium (30 × 20 × 5") to Giant (58 × 42 × 9") · zippered, machine-washable cover
Evidence: tested by Whole Dog Journal; specs from FurHaven.
Memory foam dog bed vs orthopedic foam: what's the difference?
The two terms get used as if they meant the same thing. They don't, quite.
- Memory foam is a polyurethane foam that softens with body heat and molds around your dog. Whole Dog Journal notes it can support well in thinner slabs than ordinary foam, but it holds heat: a dog who keeps getting up, panting or sleeping belly-up may be too warm.
- High-density support foam is firmer and springier. It stops a heavy dog bottoming out.
- An orthopedic memory foam dog bed usually layers the two, a comfort layer of memory foam over a support base. The Big Barker, Casper and Brindle are built this way.
- Egg-crate foam responds fast and costs less, but Whole Dog Journal says it doesn't last like memory foam and can compress for good. That's why we left the 3-inch egg-crate beds out.
If your dog runs hot, an elevated dog bed with airflow underneath is the other route. Our elevated dog bed vs regular bed guide helps you choose.
Large orthopedic dog bed: sizing it right
Big dogs are where thin orthopedic beds fail fastest. For any dog over about 60 lb:
- Go deep. The Big Barker is the only pick with more than 4 inches under the dog. Whole Dog Journal calls a thick mattress "an absolute necessity for a larger, heavier dog."
- Measure nose to the base of the tail. That's the number Barker Beds sizes by. It puts a dog up to 40 inches long on its 48-inch Large.
- Check the weight guide where the maker gives one (Casper, Orvis), and leave a margin.
Our large dog bed size chart matches big breeds to a bed size.

How to choose
- Heavy dog? Foam depth first: Big Barker.
- Accidents? A liner first: Brindle (waterproof) or Orvis (water-resistant). Add a liner to anything else.
- Stiff dog who hesitates at the edge? Entry first: the FurHaven's step-on middle or the Orvis's open side.
- Stiff dog in a cold house? Keep the foam bed and add warmth: our heated dog bed guide covers self-warming toppers and safe electric beds.
- Getting onto your bed or sofa is the hard part, not lying down? A ramp does more than any mattress: see our dog ramp for bed picks.
| Pick | Foam under the dog | Liner | Entry | Sizes | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Barker | 7" | Sold separately | Flat, headrest on one side | L, XL, Giant | TechGearLab test |
| Casper | 3.5" (maker) | No | Low bolsters | S, M, L (to 90 lb) | TechGearLab and Reviewed tests |
| Orvis Couch | 4" | Water-resistant, included | Open side | S to XL (to 120 lb) | Whole Dog Journal test |
| Brindle | 4" | Waterproof, included | Flat | S, M, L | Specs only |
| FurHaven Luxe Lounger | Not published | Sold separately | Step-on middle | M to Giant | Whole Dog Journal test |
This guide is general information, not veterinary advice. If you're worried about your dog, talk to your vet. An orthopedic bed is designed to support your dog's body and can make lying down and getting up easier, but it doesn't treat arthritis, hip dysplasia or any other condition. The American Kennel Club's chief veterinarian lists these among the signs of arthritis: difficulty or reluctance to stand up from lying down, trouble with stairs or jumping onto a bed or couch, a narrow stance in the back legs, and muscle loss in the back legs. If you see them, book a vet visit.
FAQs
Is an orthopedic dog bed worth it?
For an older, heavy or stiff dog, many owners find a solid foam bed worth it: it spreads weight more evenly than polyfill and doesn't flatten the same way. Before you pay extra for the label, check two things: the foam depth under the dog and the squeeze test. A young, small dog who curls up often does fine on a simpler bed.
What is the best memory foam dog bed?
For most medium dogs, the Orvis Memory Foam Couch: 4 inches of memory foam under the dog, a water-resistant liner, and Whole Dog Journal's top washable bed in 2025. For the most testing behind it, the Casper, though its sleep area is 3.5 inches deep, so it suits dogs under about 60 lb best.
What's the best dog bed for arthritis?
No bed treats arthritis, but a deep, solid foam bed that's easy to get onto is designed to support a stiff dog. For a big dog, look at the Big Barker's 7 inches; for a dog who struggles to step in, the FurHaven's step-on middle or the Orvis's open side. Pair any bed with your vet's advice.
How thick should an orthopedic dog bed be?
K9 of Mine treats 4 inches as the minimum for a big dog. Our own rule of thumb is 4 inches of solid foam for a medium dog and close to 7 for a giant breed. Measure the sleeping area, not the bolsters, and press your hand in: if you feel the floor, it's too thin.
Are canine orthopedic beds waterproof?
Most aren't. Of our five, only the Brindle comes with a fully waterproof inner cover, and the Orvis has a water-resistant liner. Barker Beds and FurHaven sell liners separately, and the Casper has none. Foam that soaks up urine can't be washed, so add a liner for an older dog.
What's the best large orthopedic dog bed?
The Big Barker: 7 inches of three-layer foam, a Giant size up to 60 × 48 inches, TechGearLab's Best Bed for Large Breeds and a 10-year warranty against flattening. Add a waterproof liner, because it doesn't come with one.
If you take one number away from this page, make it the foam depth under your dog. Most listings leave it out, and it decides whether a heavy dog ends up sleeping on the floor.





